Join Renew Donate Gift It
Site Search Show Navigation

Staff

JAMES BRUCKBAUER, deputy director, manages finances, staff development, and organizational systems for Groundwork. Jim is also a respected leader on policy to support vibrant downtowns, housing strategies, and transportation choices in Michigan. He has been particularly active in working to re-establish a passenger rail service between Ann Arbor and Traverse City. james@groundworkcenter.org 616-843-0419. Read more about Jim.

 

DIANE CONNERS, senior policy specialist, has been advancing Groundwork's food & farming program for more than a decade. Diane is a champion—recognized nationally—for good food as the foundation for community health and farm to school programming. diane@groundworkcenter.org 231-499-3937. Read more about Diane.

 

RIC EVANS, clean energy policy specialist, has been engaged in getting northwest Michigan "energy smart" for over 12 years, focusing primarily on sustainability issues and solutions in, and for, rural areas. Ric is an Antrim County resident who is passionate about clean water, air and soil, and excited to engage energy users throughout this exciting evolution of our energy system. ric@groundworkcenter.org 231-883-3146. Read more about Ric.

 

MANDY GIBSON, financial manager, takes care of Groundwork’s financial records and assists with budgeting, board reporting, grant reports and daily bookkeeping. She is a local entrepreneur who has spent the past 14 years as a business advisor to small businesses and nonprofits. mandy@groundworkcenter.org. Read more about Mandy.

 

JIM LIVELY, program director, oversees policy staff and strategy for all programs. Jim directs our work to revive passenger rail and has been a crucial leader in the high profile campaign to shut down the Line 5 oil pipeline and protect the Great Lakes. jim@groundworkcenter.org 231-360-7222. Read more about Jim.

 

AMY MACKAY, development director, is responsible for growing the base of supporters who strengthen Groundwork’s long-term financial stability. Amy coordinates our planned giving and major gifts programs and works with members and donors to raise awareness about our mission. amy@groundworkcenter.org 231-534-5259. Read more about Amy.

 

MEGHAN McDERMOTT, food & farming program director, oversees all of Groundwork’s food & farming projects, including farm to school, food access, culinary medicine, and many other initiatives building the local food economy. Meghan manages Groundwork’s largest program team and promotes community food security by finding ways to connect classrooms, cafeterias and communities with healthy, locally-grown food.meghan@groundworkcenter.org 773-294-9650. Read more about Meghan.

 

MIRIAM OWSLEY, volunteer & event coordinator, assists with outreach, events, administration and coordinates Harvest at the Commons, our annual community celebration. Miriam leads an integrated volunteer program to support programs and outreach initiatives. miriam@groundworkcenter.org 231-941-6584. Read more about Miriam.

 

CILE PLUMSTEAD, development assistant, keeps track of the multitude of details related to member and donor relations. She tracks donations, manages correspondence, and keeps that essential portion of our business running smoothly. cile@groundworkcenter.org, 616-326-2000. Read more about Cile.

 

JENNIFER SCHAAP, local food policy specialist, coordinates our food and farming program in the Northern Farms Foodshed of Antrim, Charlevoix and Emmet Counties. Her work includes support for our farm to school and food access projects as well as the expansion of markets for farms and food businesses. jen@groundworkcenter.org, 616-856-1163. Read more about Jennifer.

 

AMY SCHNEIDER, development specialist, manages Groundwork's member database, oversees administration, coordinates mail campaigns, and oversees our annual giving program. Amy makes sure members stay connected to programs. aschneider@groundworkcenter.org 231-590-0494. Read more about Amy.

 

JEFF SMITH, communications director, shares the mission, goals and accomplishments of Groundwork through multi-platform storytelling. jeff@groundworkcenter.org, 231-499-5874. Read more about Jeff.

 

HANS VOSS, executive director, points Groundwork toward strategic goals by collaborating with staff on strategy, cultivating relationships with partners, and working with the Board, Advisory Council, donors, and foundations. Hans is an enthusiastic champion for community resilience. hans@groundworkcenter.org 231-620-6914. Read more about Hans.

 

DAN WORTH, clean energy policy specialist, works with homeowners, businesses, institutions, officials, and utilities to advance cost-effective solutions for efficiency and renewables. In pursuit of a low-carbon future, Dan's work demonstrates environmental and economic benefits. dan@groundworkcenter.org 617-610-7399. Read more about Dan.

 

TASTE THE LOCAL DIFFERENCE

TRICIA PHELPS, chief executive officer, directs the mission to expand markets and economic opportunity for farmers and local food entrepreneurs. Tricia manages a strategic marketing strategy to connect people with local food and products. A talented and thoughtful leader, Tricia is well respected and highly connected to Michigan's local agricultural community. Tricia began as an intern for TLD in 2014, managed farmers markets for several years and led communications projects for the Village at Grand Traverse Commons.tricia@localdifference.org 847-809-7643

 

TLD LOCAL FOOD COORDINATORS
 

Molly Stepanski, NE Local Food Coordinator
molly@localdifference.org (877) 562-2539, ext. 3


Bailey Samp, NW Local Food Coordinator
bailey@localdifference.org (877) 562-2539, ext. 2

 

Kelly Wilson, SE Local Food Coordinator
kelly@localdifference.org (877) 562-2539, ext. 4


Emma Beauchamp, Communications Manager
emma@localdifference.org